Thailand ushers in new political era


Chiang Mai, Thailand (eTN) – Member of Parliaments (MPs) voted Monday morning to proclaim Democrat Party Leader, Mr. Abhisit Vejjajiva, 44, as the 27th prime minister of Thailand.

Of the 436 MPs eligible to vote 235 voted for Mr. Abhisit, while 198 voted for Mr. Pracha. Three MPs abstained.

The alternative candidate nominated by the recently formed Phue Thai Party, which is backed by ousted former Prime Minister Thaksin Shinawatra, was Puea Pandin Party leader and police general Pracha Promnok.

The electoral result was not welcomed by some of the supporters of Mr. Thaksin, who lives in exile and faces a two-year jail term, if he returns from abroad. “Red shirts” were protesting outside Thai Parliament against the MPs, who evidently have switched sides in the meantime.

A last ditch influence by Mr. Thaksin to prevent the result of the election process on Saturday evening has obviously failed.

Also, the amazing result ushers Thailand in a new political era and will certainly help to lead a recovery in the sinking tourism outcome.