SriLankan Airlines appoints acting chairman


Dr. P. B. Jayasundera tendered his resignation from his position as chairman, SriLankan Airlines effective October 2, 2008. The Government of Sri Lanka has accordingly nominated and appointed Mr. Nishanta Wickramasinghe, Executive Director as Acting Chairman.

Mr. Wickremasinghe has been on the board of the national carrier since January 2006. He was appointed as executive director from April of this year.

He is currently the general manager of James Finlay Plantation Holdings, Limited.

The Government of Sri Lanka has also nominated and appointed the following as directors of the national carrier:

Dr. U N B Obeysekera
Mr. Nihal Jayamanne PC
Mr. Sanath Ukwatte

Mr. Nihal Jayamanne PC and Mr. Ukwatte both have served on the board of SriLankan previously.