HTA announces vice chair and committee assignments


HONOLULU — The Hawaii Tourism Authority (HTA) board of directors, led by chairperson Kelvin Bloom, has announced the election of Sharon Weiner to serve as its vice chair. Weiner, vice president of global communications and government relations for DFS Group Limited, previously served on the HTA board from 2002 to 2006.

“It is an honor to welcome Sharon back to the HTA ohana (family),” said Rex Johnson, president and CEO of HTA. “Sharon has more than 30 years of knowledge and experience working with Hawaii’s visitor industry. Her leadership continues to be valuable in strategically guiding the HTA as we strive to manage Hawaii’s tourism industry.”

Effective immediately, the following committee assignments were also announced today at HTA’s board meeting at the Hawaii Convention Center:

Administrative Standing Committee – Makes policy recommendations related to the evaluation of the executive director and the administration of the HTA.
Chair: Kelvin Bloom
Vice Chair: Sharon Weiner
Members: Douglas Chang

Budget & Audit Standing Committee – Develops policies to ensure the financial integrity of the HTA and ensure that funds are properly expended under a budget approved by the board.
Chair: Vernon Char
Vice Chair: Leon Yoshida
Members: Douglas Chang, Michael Kobayashi Marsha Wienert and Stephen Yamashiro

Marketing Standing Committee – Makes policy recommendations on initiatives that relate to promoting the visitor industry.
Chair: Sharon Weiner
Vice Chair: John Toner
Members: Patricia Ewing, Kyoko Kimura, Michael Kobayashi, Marsha Wienert, Ronald Yamakawa and Leon Yoshida

Strategic Planning Standing Committee – Makes policy recommendations relating to research and planning.
Chair: Kyoko Kimura
Vice Chair: Patricia Ewing
Members: Vernon Char, Kawaikapuokalani Hewett, Brennon Morioka, Laura Thielen, and Cha Thompson

HTA’s board of directors has 16 members who represent the visitor industry, business community, community-at-large, government, and Hawaii’s four counties. The primary purpose of the board is to set broad polices and directions for the HTA’s activities, consistent with the Hawaii Tourism Strategic Plan: 2005-15 (State TSP).

The Hawaii Tourism Authority was created in 1998 to ensure a successful visitor industry well into the future. Its mission is to strategically manage Hawaii tourism in a sustainable manner consistent with our economic goals, cultural values, preservation of natural resources, community desires, and visitor industry needs. For more information on the HTA, visit