NEW DELHI – In the midst of the introduction of new guidelines on tourist visas, the government announced tourist visa on arrival for citizens five countries including Japan, New Zealand and Singapore, in an effort to promote tourism.

The ministry of external affairs said that the visa on arrival plan for Finland, Japan, Luxembourg, New Zealand and Singapore would be implemented from Friday and would continue for a year on an “experimental basis.”

The visa is aimed at foreign tourists from these countries who plan their trips on a short notice, the MEA said. “Tourists can also procure their visas from the Missions/Posts in the normal course,” the ministry added.

The visas given on arrival for the nationals of these five countries will have a maximum validity of 30 days with single entry facility which will be given initially by the immigration officers at Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai and Kolkata airports.

While announcing the new visa on arrival policy, the government also attempted to clarify the way the new visa guidelines would be implemented. Foreign missions here have sought clarification on the new visa guidelines complaining that tourists were being inconvenienced.