Seychelles artists to commemorate 100th anniversary of State House


To mark the centenary celebrations of the laying of the foundation stone of the Seychelles’ State House in November 1911 (at the time known as Government House), the Office of the President in collaboration with the School of Visual Arts and the National Arts Council is working on a project for artists to photograph and paint their impressions of State House.

The artists will interpret “State House 2011” through fine art drawing, photography, and photograph montage.

Participants include second-year students from the Fine Arts school, at the Seychelles Polytechnic, and professional artists registered with the National Arts Council, who took up the opportunity following a call to artists made by the NAC earlier this year.

The artists two-day session at State House ended today and an exhibition of their works will be organized at a later date.

Professional Artists:

Juliette Zelime
Marsha Dine
Dominic Elizabeth
Colbert Nourrice
Robert Alexis
Jude Ally
Nicholas Shamlaye
Chantal Prea
Pierre Joseph
Georges Boniface
Alex Zelime
Nigel Henri
Bernard Pool
Allen Ernesta
Nigel Henriette

Fine Art Students:

Mona Prosper
Herve Dine
Vera Barbe
Shaun Pillay
Lester Augustin
Sahirah Carola
Stephania Freminot
Ashnel Denis
David Lenclume
Diane Folette
Luigi Sanviti
Lecturer: Mr. Barry Gertrude