US President Barack Obama and Russia President Dmitry Medvedev to attend 6th East Asia Summit


The fabled tropical island of Bali will again host a number of most prestigious ASEAN conferences this November under the theme: “ASEAN Community in a Global Community of Nations.”

On Thursday, November 17, 2011, the 19th ASEAN Summit will open the series of summits, followed by the ASEAN Plus Three Summit (Japan, China, and South Korea) held the next day on Friday, November 18. On Saturday, November 19, the 6th East Asia Summit will convene to be attended by leaders of ASEAN, and those of Australia, China, India, Japan, South Korea, and New Zealand, as well as the Presidents of Russia and the USA. All three summits will be centered at the brand new Bali Nusa Dua Convention Center in the Nusa Dua Resort complex.

This is the second time this year that Indonesia will host the ASEAN Summit as the current ASEAN Chair after the one held in Jakarta in May of 2011.

On the sidelines of the three summits will be, among others, the Third ASEAN-US Summit to discuss ASEAN-US cooperation in the Southeast Asian region and at the global level. ASEAN leaders will renew the declaration on HIV and AIDS, and commemorate the 10th Year of the ASEAN Declaration on HIV and AIDS. Other conferences that will precede the summits are the ASEAN Supreme Audit Institutions Summit held on November 16, and the ASEAN Business and Investment Summit to take place from November 16-19, 2011.

Nearly all 20 world leaders are expected to be present in Bali. Participating for the first time in the East Asia Summit, President of the United States of America Barack Obama has confirmed his presence at the Summit. Russia’s President Dmitry Medvedev, who will also participate for the first time, and United Nations (UN) Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon, are also expected to join. Prior to attending the East Asia Summit, President Obama will also attend the ASEAN-US Summit on November 18.

More than 2,000 journalists from around the world are expected to cover the event. US President Barack Obama alone is reported to bring along about 150 American journalists for the summits.

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations, or ASEAN, was established in Bangkok, Thailand, on August 8, 1967 with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration) by the ASEAN Founding Fathers, namely Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand. Brunei Darussalam joined on January 7, 1984; Vietnam on July 28, 1995; Laos PDR and Myanmar on July 23, 1997; and Cambodia on April 30, 1999, making up what is today the 10 Member States of ASEAN.

As ASEAN Chair for 2011, Indonesia will definitely make all efforts to lead ASEAN into a better future.

For more information go to: