Kenya opens the way for Intra Africa Tourism

Kenya opens the way for Intra Africa Tourism

Standing the leading tourist destination in East Africa, Kenya has opened its doors for tourists and other travellers from the East African region and the rest of Africa with ease and visa free access to the Kenyan cities and other areas of tourist visiting and business.

Kenyan President Mr. Uhuru Kenyatta opened his country’s doors to Africans visiting Kenya and said all were welcomed to travel to his country without landing visa upon the arrival.

Kenya is now standing among nations pushing for the much awaited Intra-Africa travel and tourism development, attracting African travellers to visit its high profile tourist attractions, mostly the wildlife.

President Kenyatta said no longer visa requirement before travelling to Kenya as his personal initiative to spearhead the continent-wide push to boost integration and free movement.

During his inauguration for a second term in office, President Uhuru Kenyatta said that Africans wishing to visit Kenya will be eligible to receive a visa on arrival. The directive, he said, was meant to enhance trade, security, and intercontinental travel.

Kenya already had one of the more straightforward online processes for short-term visas.

Latest eTN Podcast

“The free movement of people on our continent has always been a cornerstone of Pan-African brotherhood and fraternity,” Kenyatta said.

“The freer we are to travel and live with one another, the more integrated and appreciative of our diversity, we will become”, he added.

He said in front of other African leaders from Djibouti, Ethiopia, Gabon, Nigeria, Rwanda, Somalia, Uganda and Zambia.

Kenya has now joined 21 African countries which had relaxed or scrapped visa rules.

Rwanda, Seychelles, Mauritius, Nigeria, Ghana and Benin had no visa requirements for long since the past two years. The African Union also launched a continental passport last year as part of its move to encourage open borders.

The Kenyan President said that members of the East African Community (EAC) will be treated as Kenyans when they visit his country. They will be able to use their identity cards, and no need for passports to do business and own property in Kenya.

The EAC consists of six countries including Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda. Kenyatta said he didn’t expect any reciprocity from his other member states.

“Together, we can deliver the peace and prosperity for which our citizens are crying out; divided, we will struggle to realize the full potential of our people,” Kenyatta said.

Fill out my online form.
Follow on Feedly