Gambia minister of tourism and culture named new ATA president


The Honorable Fatou Mass Jobe-Njie, minister of tourism and culture of the Gambia, was selected as president of the Africa Travel Association’s (ATA) at the conclusion of ATA’s 35th Annual Congress at the Sheraton Hotel Spa and Resort by the incoming ATA board of directors that was elected in the afternoon. The minister succeeds the Honorable Shamsa Mwangunga, minister of natural resources and tourism of the United Republic of Tanzania, who was appointed ATA president in May 2008 at the 33rd Annual Congress in Arusha, Tanzania.

The minister began her thank you remarks by saying she was honored to be named president. She then outlined three areas of priority for ATA during her presidency. “We need to help the board of directors ensure that we have sufficient funds to produce events, we have to be very aggressive in the membership drive, and we have to make sure that the members actively participate in the association.”

To accomplish these goals, the minister asked for “the support of all of the members of ATA and the whole of Africa.” She concluded by congratulating ATA on a successful congress and thanking everybody for their support.

At the farewell dinner at the Senegambia Beach Hotel, ATA presented a number of awards to the following leading travel and trade professionals serving Africa:

2010 Outstanding Service to the Organization
Honorable Fatou Mass Jobe Njie, Secretary of State for Tourism & Culture, The Gambia

2010 Outstanding Service to the Organization
Kaliba Senghore, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Tourism & Culture, The Gambia

2010 Outstanding Achievement, Development of Responsible Tourism in the Continent
CDC Development Solutions

2010 Outstanding Service to the Organization
Alieu Secka, Chairman, The Gambian Hotel Association

2010 Outstanding Leadership in Promotion of Responsible Tourism to the Continent
Dr. Yaw Nyarko, NYU Africa House

2010 Outstanding Leadership in ATA
Hon. Shamsa Selengia Mwangunga, Minister of Natural Resources & Tourism, United Republic of Tanzania, President, ATA

2010 Founders Award
Omar Carrera, Sheraton Addis