2010 Seychelles Regatta unfurls its sails


The Seychelles Regatta is again set to sail around the inner islands of Seychelles in what promises to be an exciting race due to be held between May 22-30.

Held annually, the Regatta has become a popular event featuring some of the most illustrious names in international yachting who will compete for this year’s honors over an itinerary that will include some of the most beautiful of the archipelago’s inner islands.

Big yachting names who will be taking part in the 2010 Seychelles Regatta include Michael Desjoyaux, Armel le Cleac’h, Samantha Davies, Yann Elles, Romain Attanasio, Servane Escoffier, and Jeremie Beyou.

“The presence of such famous sailors among the ranks of this year’s competitors will do much to consolidate Seychelles reputation for offering year-round, world-beating sailing opportunities among islands far outside the cyclone belt in the land of perpetual summer,” stated Seychelles’ director of tourism marketing, Alain St. Ange, “and that applies equally to the casual sailor looking to enjoy the sailing vacation of a lifetime.”

The Regatta allows the competitors to enjoy not only great sailing but also to taste the diversity of Seychelles’ islands on a course that will start and end at Eden Island and take in such island jewels as Silhouette, Praslin, Curieuse, Cousine, and La Digue. The competition will also contain a fishing component where teams will earn various prizes for the best catches.

The list of vessels participating in this year’s Regatta, along with their respective captains, are as follows:

1 Champagnes Nicolas Feuillatte – Michel Desjoyeaux – Leopard 43’
2 Eden Island – Samantha Davies – Leopard 46’
3 Fondéole – Romain Attanasion – Leopard 46’
4 Château Perenne Grand Vin de Bordeaux – Armel Le Cléac’h – Leopard 47’
5 Mason’s Travel – Jean-Claude Dupouy – Privilège 615
6 Bastide Du Laval – Servane Escoffier – Catana 41’
7 Air Seychelles – Yvon Bénéteau – Lagoon 570
8 Hyundaï – Jérémie Beyou – Leopard 47’
9 Eden Island 2 – François Gabart – Voyageur 50’
10 Seybrew – Yann Eliès – Nautitech 47’