Tourism Council staff to be absorbed into Tourism Department


Raub – All State Tourism Action Council staff nationwide will be absorbed into state tourism departments upon the abolishment of the councils at the end of this year.

Tourism Minister Datuk Seri Dr Ng Yen Yen, however, said the staff involved would have to meet qualification and other requirements before they were absorbed.

“At year’s end, all state tourism councils will be abolished and tourism department will be set up instead.

“The staff who are eligible will be absorbed into the departments,” she told reporters after attending a Deepavali and Aidilfitri celebration here today.

Dr Ng said the abolishment of the councils, which should have taken place in June this year, was postponed to enable several issues concerning staff, numdering about 200, to be resolved.

In other developments, Dr Ng said the ministry would revoke the licences issued to over 100 non-active tourist guides nationwide early next year.

“We do not revoke their licences easily, but there are some of them who are no longer active in the service and some did not submit their accounts to the ministry,” she said, adding that there were currently over 5,000 tourist guides nationwide.

In LANGKAWI, Malaysia’s ambassador to Uzbekistan Abdul Aziz Harun said Malaysia would be among 40 countries which would be participating in Uzbekistan’s Tourism Promotion week scheduled to be held in its capital city Tashkent at the end of this month.

“I hope it will help increase tourist arrivals from Uzbekistan which last year stood at 4,900 people,” he told reporters after accompanying a delegation of foreign envoys based in Tashkent and their families on a visit to this resort island today.

The Langkawi visit programme, which began on Oct 13 and ends tomorrow, was an initiative by the the Malaysian Embassy in Tashkent to promote Malaysian tourism.

Among the envoys were Azerbaijan’s ambassador Abbasor Namik Rashid Oglu; Kyrgyz ambassador, Azizbek M. Madmarov and Czech Republic ambassador, Robert Kopecky.

The Historical City of Melaka, Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya and Langkawi were the places on the itinerary of the delegation, said Abdul Aziz, adding that all expenses incurred were borne by the respective parties themselves.