Submit Press release  · eTN Team ·  Advertising  ·  eTN Awards  - Worldtourism Events    

WTTC Press Release

Tourism for Tomorrow Awards Announce 2008 Shortlist - Finalists to showcase World's Leading Examples of Best Practice in Travel

share this article

Jan 22, 2008

22 January 2008 - London, UK - The World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC) today announces the 12 finalists for the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards 2008. Responsible tourism management no longer just caters to a niche market but is a catalyst for successful development and improvement of quality of life in many destinations.

The 2008 Tourism for Tomorrow Awards finalists showcase some of the world's leading examples of this global trend towards sustainable practices. An international committee of 12 experts led by Costas Christ, Chairman of Judges, Tourism for Tomorrow Awards and internationally recognized leader in sustainable tourism, selected 12 finalists from 150 applications from more than 40 countries representing Travel & Tourism on all seven continents.

Costas Christ said "Sustainable tourism practices are ramping up to a new level, as the tourism industry moves beyond basic recycling programmes and washing sheets and towels every other day. There is a more sophisticated effort happening now at greening tourism operations and delivering tangible returns for conservation and community development. The 2008 finalists represent the very best examples among a great pool of exceptional Award applicants who are part of the global transformation of tourism now underway." Winners and finalists will be honoured at a special ceremony at the Gala Dinner of the 8th Global Travel & Tourism Summit on 21 April, 2008 in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. As the President of the Council Jean-Claude Baumgarten explained "Travel & Tourism is an ever growing industry, in 2007 it saw a growth rate of 3.9 per cent and employment rise to over 231 million jobs worldwide. However, as environmental concerns increase, this industry plays a crucial role in driving the agenda on responsibility." He continued "on behalf of all WTTC Members we are proud to announce this year's finalists and applaud their shared vision for sustainable tourism development. It is also a great honour to work with such a prestigious, independent judging panel."The finalists for each category are, in alphabetical order:


Blackstone Valley, USA,

Rinjani Trek Ecotourism Programme, Indonesia,

Town of Bouctouche, Canada,


Ecotourism Australia,

Grootbos Nature Reserve, South Africa,

Turtle Conservation Project, Sri Lanka,


Fair Trade in Tourism, South Africa,

RARE / La Ruta Moskitia, Honduras,

Rainforest Expeditions, Peru,


Scandic Hotels, Sweden & Global,

Serena Hotels and Lodges, Kenya & Global,

Six Senses Resorts & Spas, Thailand & Global,

The finalist selection committee for the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards 2008 includes:

Dr Peter Burns, Professor, Centre for Tourism Policy Studies, University of Brighton, UK
Tony Charters, Principal, Tony Charters & Associates, Australia
Nicky Fitzgerald, Senior Director, CC Africa, South Africa
Erika Harms, Executive Director of Sustainable Development, United Nations Foundation, Costa Rica & USA
Marilú Hernández, President, Fundacion Hacinedas del Mundo Mayas, Mexico
Dr Janne J Liburd, Associate Professor, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark & Chair, BEST Education Network
Brian Mullis, President, Sustainable Travel International, USA
Mahen Sangkhrajka, President, Big Five Tourism and Expeditions, Kenya & USA
Mandip Singh Soin FRGS, Founder & Managing Director, Ibex Expeditions (P) Ltd, India
Albert Teo, Managing Director, Borneo Eco Tours, Malaysia
Michelle White, Director, Environmental Affairs, Fairmont Hotels & Resorts, Canada & Global

WTTC is proud to announce Travelport as the new strategic partner for the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards. Furthermore, the Awards are endorsed by the Members of the Council and sponsored by leading Travel & Tourism organizations, including Fairmont Hotels & Resorts, Lindblad Expeditions, NM Rothschild & Sons Ltd, Reed Travel Exhibitions, Adventure in Travel Expo, BEST Education Network, Sustainable Travel International, Rainforest Alliance and World Heritage Alliance. Media sponsors include BBC World, National Geographic Adventure, Telegraph Media Group, TTN Middle East, Travelmole and eTurboNews.

Tourism for Tomorrow Awards Announce 2008 Shortlist - Finalists to showcase World's Leading Examples of Best Practice in Travel

Premium Partners